Mother and Daughter Healthy Habits

Habit is defined as a settled or regular tendency or practice, esp. one that is hard to give up.

Mothers and daughters have many habits that can be cultivated each and every day.  How do we cultivate the healthy habits instead of the unhealthy, sinful habits?I ask myself this daily many, many times! Especially as a homeschooling mom.  Choosing to home school means less “me” time for us moms.  But really even if I wasn’t a homeschooling mom, for a working mom or a stay at home mom there really isn’t a surplus of “me” time.  My desire is to teach my daughter and children how to live out the gospel daily and see the blessings that God gives to us.  Some days I am more successful than others.  How do we overcome the unhealthy habits?

This morning, I was filing Isabel’s nails and I filed one too short and instantly an unhealthy habit sprung up and there was no turning back! What was the unhealthy habit? Both of our feelings were hurt. Isabel was hurt because physically it hurt and emotionally it hurts your heart when someone you spend most of your time with hurts you.  I was hurt because she had an unforgiving attitude and I couldn’t undo the pain.  We were stuck in a pattern of sin, an unhealthy habit, resentment (Bitter indignation at having been treated unfairly).

I began to pray immediately quietly as I tried to think of a Gospel minded solution.  I didn’t walk away in a Spirit of anger, as I have done countless times in the past, another unhealthy habit.  Instead, I stopped and apologized and looked into Isabel’s beautiful brown eyes.  I then walked into the kitchen where she could still see me, but also giving Isabel space to think over my apology.  About a minute later, She apologized also.  I walked back over to our dining room table and said I forgave you and I love you.  We then were able to get on with our home schooling day.  My heart’s desire is to break these unhealthy habits and restore our relationship by creating healthy habits now, so as Isabel grows into a young woman, we will be able to communicate with grace and gentleness.  There is no way any Christian relationship can be restored without divine intervention from the Holy Spirit.  I want to teach my daughter to hear His voice, even in the midst of trials and sin and not be ruled by her emotions which are always changing.

Each and everyday God gives us opportunities to create healthy habits.  May we have eyes to see those opportunities to live out the Gospel and teach our daughters how to live it out by example.  “

 

June 2012 092

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things Philippians 4:8

Leave a Reply

